New Travel Scholarship for Residents

A new Resident Travel Scholarship has been developed to cultivate future leaders among junior residents and international residents in plastic surgery. Six domestic and three international residents will be awarded $1,200 each to help offset the cost of travel and lodging to Plastic Surgery The Meeting, Sept. 28-Oct. 1, in Chicago. Applications were due on June 30. Late applications will not be accepted. Applicants will be notified by July 30 as to whether or not they were awarded a scholarship.

Residents will be selected for leadership potential, interest in ASPS/PSF programs and geographic, ethnic and gender diversity. Selected residents will be expected to participate in at least three committee meetings during Plastic Surgery The Meeting.

Upon completion of the program, residents are required to complete a final report discussing their committee experiences; main challenges, successes and take-aways from attendance at Plastic Surgery The Meeting; and how their attendance affected their career goals as plastic surgeons.

It is the responsibility of the program director to ensure the selected residents complete the required final report within 30 days of PSTM 2018.